State Requirements

Minimum Standards
There is no other professional group subjected so continuously to the range of physical and mental stress under hazardous conditions common in law enforcement work. Because of this, sworn law enforcement applicants must be measured in all dimensions, including mental ability, social skills, character, psychological status, as well as physical health.

To be considered for employment as a law enforcement officer, you must first be able to meet the following minimum standards established by the State of Florida:
  • 19 years of age or older
  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Have a high school diploma or GED equivalent
  • Posses a State of Florida law enforcement certification
  • Never have been convicted of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving perjury, false statements or domestic violence
  • Never have received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States
  • Undergo a criminal records check, which includes classifying fingerprints
  • Undergo a physical examination by a licensed physician, which includes a comprehensive drug screen
  • Be of good moral character and have a stable work history
  • Successfully pass a background investigation
  • Possess or acquire a valid Florida drivers license
Academy Training
The designated Police Academy for law enforcement agencies in Bay County is Gulf Coast Community College. The academy consists of 760 hours instructor time, which is estimated at 24 weeks full time or 56 weeks part time. Subjects instructed in the academy consists of criminal law, patrol techniques, firearm qualification, physical fitness, emergency vehicle operations, and first responder training. All necessary equipment and materials are included in the cost of tuition.

View more information on Gulf Coast Community College and the Academy.