News Flash


Posted on: October 26, 2018

Hurricane Michael Survivors Eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Disaster unemployment assistance is available to survivors who lived or worked in Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Taylor, Wakulla or Washington counties who lost income as a direct result of Hurricane Michael in Florida.

The purpose of disaster unemployment assistance is to help workers whose primary incomes are lost or interrupted by a federally declared disaster. It differs from regular state unemployment insurance because it provides benefits to people who are self-employed, farmers, loggers and employees who work on commission.

Individuals in the 12 counties designated for disaster assistance in Florida must first apply for regular unemployment insurance by visiting the Florida Dept. of Economic Opportunity or calling 800-385-3920 Mon. through Fri. between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. ET; and Sat. from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. ET.

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity will notify claimants if they are eligible to file for disaster unemployment assistance.

The deadline to apply in Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Liberty, Taylor, Wakulla and Washington counties is Nov. 14, and in Leon County the deadline is Nov. 16.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Announcements

Open Burning Prohibited in Panama City

Posted on: November 8, 2018

Hurricane Health and Safety Information

Posted on: October 19, 2018

Beware of Hurricane Related Scams

Posted on: October 17, 2018

Rabid Racoon Captured in the Cove area

Posted on: September 19, 2018

Half-Cent Surtax Project Plan

Posted on: July 31, 2018
Utility Account Activation Final

Activate New Utility Services Online

Posted on: February 21, 2018
Panama City Marina (3)

Termination of Panama City Marina ENA

Posted on: February 27, 2018